Attitude vs. Gratitude

“It is not happy people who are grateful but it is grateful people who are happy”

I didn’t make resolutions this year aside from, meditate more… which is vague. I have however been working with a professional in the Sports Psychology field. He has me getting to know myself on a deeper level as I take a closer look at the small things in my life each day that make me happy. So as the first month of 2016 comes to an end, a new resolution has formed. Each night in my adorable Kate Spade notebook I write three things I’m thankful for, I read them in the morning and I’m off to a great start to the day.

This sounds easy but I have challenged myself to have no repeats for as long as possible. I am currently on day eleven and I have noticed it is more difficult to think of amazing things to be grateful for. Of course the first few days were, my family, my amazing boyfriend, my cats, a warm bed etc. Now I find I’m reaching because I jus
t want to go to sleep. For example, day ten consisted of,

  1. Mornings with Shaun
  2. Pizza
  3. Crepes

Mornings with Shaun is a great one because we had a few
extra minutes in our warm flannel bed to cuddle and it was lovely. That leaves us with pizza and crepes, which admittedly I am thankful for. It just doesn’t make for a well rounded list. I went to bed on day ten feeling like I had failed at finding in depth reasons to be happy. It wasn’t until at 6:00am the next morning when I rolled out of bed in desperate need for an IV of coffee that I read them and laughed. This brought to life the whole reason for the exercise. It isn’t to become a robot who is thankful for cookie-cutter things. It is to find what makes you happy and celebrate it each day.

On the quest to find my bliss writing “crepes” as something I’m thankful for might just be the key to happiness. Maybe I need to make more time for crepes.

Only time will tell.
HM

2 thoughts on “Attitude vs. Gratitude

Leave a Reply

