Guilt Free – Superfood Hot Chocolate

I love Pinterest. I spend most of my Sunday mornings scouring for recipes to try during the week. One of my favourite things on this magical website is the healthier versions of my go-to comfort food. As I write this I’m eating some improved mac and cheese… amazing. However, I’m not here to talk about mac and cheese. I stumbled upon a recipe for hot chocolate thats full of healthy fats, antioxidants and natural sweeteners. It took a bit of trial and error to adjust the recipe to fit my preferences but I nailed it!

In a large mug add,

1 tbsp coconut oil
1 cup boiling water
2 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tsp cinnamon
2 tbsp pure maple syrup
1/4 cup almond milk
Sprinkle of ginger

Stir until smooth and enjoy!

You could use any Dairy free milk, such as coconut milk or soy that suits you. Some other sweetener options could be, stevia, coconut sugar or raw cane sugar.

I was seriously surprised with how delicious this recipe is! It’s rich and creamy. It’s the perfect winter evening cure for sugar cravings! The coconut oil also moisturizes your lips as you drink it!

I hope you enjoy!

HM

Leave a Reply

