But I Don’t Have Time…

I am notorious for having those “I hate my body” moments during the day and I spiral. I start listing off everything that’s wrong with my body and suddenly I’m crying and cursing my own reflection. These moments are so toxic and unproductive. Don’t get me wrong, I love the idea that health is a journey and there is no destination. We should never be satisfied with our life, we should always be striving to be better. That said, hating your body should not be part of the journey. Taking time to love yourself is just as important as taking a shower and yet, somehow we don’t have time.

I know in the hustle and bustle of life we don’t have time to drop everything and mediate in the middle of the street, but there has to be a way to incorporate some self love into our daily lives.

Gratitude

As of the new year I have been writing in a gratitude journal  each night. I  have found it to be really helpful in winding down after a busy day. I find I’m more thankful for the little things in life as well as the little things I love about myself.

Yoga

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 10.03.54 AM

I get antsy through the day if I feel like I haven’t done enough physical activity. As an athlete this is engrained in your brain at a young age, always do more. It isn’t always ideal to go for a run in the middle of the day. I have found a few youtube videos of yoga flows that are only 15 minutes. I try to do these when I don’t feel like I’ve done enough. I get the satisfaction of feeling like I’ve done extra without exhausting my body. This is one of the links I love: here . I always feel refreshed and appreciate my body after I do this flow.

Meditation

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 10.11.41 AM

Meditation can be an intimidating word. When I think of meditating I think of sitting cross legged for hours, but it doesn’t have to be so intense. Meditating can be as simple as using that colouring book you got for Christmas for 20 minutes, or taking 5 minutes to think about your breathing. Just slow things down for a few minutes each day and think about what you love about yourself, think about the beach, or better yet don’t think at all.

Journaling

Journalling was one of the best things I did for myself in 2015. I did it for a few minutes before bed everyday and I found it so beneficial. I was able to slow things down and think more clearly, my stress made more sense and I was sleeping better. Sometimes it was as simple as making a list of what I needed to do the next day and I would feel more relaxed. Invest in a cute journal and a fancy pen and I challenge you to journal every day!

Sweat It Out

IMG_6608

Take your stress to the gym and use it! Let your worries about your body fuel you in a positive way. Go to bed every night knowing you did everything you could to work towards your goal. Get some colourful gym clothes if that will motivate you and hit the ground running!


 

There’s no time crunch for a better frame of mind. Try to go to bed loving yourself and wake up with the drive to be better.

HM

2 thoughts on “But I Don’t Have Time…

Leave a Reply

